Past Recipients of AATB Achievement Awards

Home >> Content >> Past Recipients of AATB Achievement Awards
Current Date : 02/22/2018 15:21:16
PDF versionPDF version

The Achievement Awards Archive

Jeanne C. Mowe Distinguished Service Award (Renamed August 2003)
The Jeanne C. Mowe Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution in tissue banking or transplantation, whether in research, education, or laboratory improvement, or who has served the Association or the field of tissue banking. The individual should have demonstrated leadership qualities and a consistent willingness to lend his or her expertise to the Association and/or to his or her peers. The recipient shall be a member in good standing of the Association.

  • 2017 Thomas Cycyota, CTBS, Allosource, Centennial, Colorado
  • 2016 Martell K. Winters, RM/SM (NRCM), Nelson Laboratories, Inc., Salt Lake City, Utah
  • 2015 George McCann, M.D., CTBS, Life Alaska Donor Services, Inc., Anchorage, Alaska
  • 2014 Martha Anderson, Musculoskeletal Transplant Foundation, MTF - Edison, NJ
  • 2013 Russell Bierbaum, MS. CRCS, ReproTech, Ltd.-MN, St Paul, Minnesota
  • 2012 David Gocke, M.D., MTF, Edison, New Jersey
  • 2011 James Forsell, PhD, CTBS, San Rafael, California
  • 2010 Perry Lange, CTBS, LifeNet Health, Virginia Beach, Virginia 
  • 2009 Glenn Greenleaf, CTBS, LifeCell, Branchburg, New Jersey
  • 2008 Ronald T. Plessinger, AlloSource (posthumously)
  • 2007 Margery Moogk, M.S., Northwest Tissue Center
  • 2006 Richard J. Kagan, M.D., Shriners Hospitals for Children, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • 2005 Michael J. Joyce, M.D., The Cleveland Clinic, Ohio
  • 2004 Helen Leslie-Bottenfield, Consultant, Virginia Beach, Virginia and
  • Scott Bottenfield, LifeCell, Corporation, Virginia Beach, Virginia
  • 2003 Jeanne C. Mowe, Past Executive Director, AATB (posthumously)

Distinguished Service Award

  • 2002 Bill Anderson, LifeNet, Virginia Beach, Virginia (posthumously)
  • 2001 John F. Burke, M.D. and Conrado C. Bondoc, M.D. (posthumously)
  • 2000 Emmanuel K. Tayo, Ph.D., Past Accreditation Program Manager, AATB (posthumously)
  • 1999 John R. Kateley, Ph.D., MEDx, Lansing, Michigan
  • 1998 Donald J. Prolo, M.D., Clinical Professor, Department of Neurosurgery, Stanford University, San Jose, California
  • 1997 Samuel H. Doppelt, M.D., Cambridge Hospital, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston
  • 1996 Gary Friedlaender, M.D., Yale University School of Medicine, Dept. of Orthopaedics & Rehabilitation, New Haven, Connecticut
  • 1995 Mary St. J. Douglas, Center for Transfusion and Transplantation Medicine, Naval Medical Research Center, Silver Spring, Maryland
  • 1994 Jerome K. Sherman, Ph.D., University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Dept. of Anatomy, Little Rock
  • 1993 Peter Mazur, Ph.D., Group Leader, Theoretical and Applied Cryobiology, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Tennessee
  • 1992 Henry J. Mankin, M.D., Chief of Orthopaedic Surgery, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston
  • 1991 Charles R. Baxter, M.D., University of Texas Health Science Center, Dallas
  • 1990 Kenneth W. Sell, M.D., Ph.D., Professor & Chairman, Dept. of Pathology, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, Georgia (posthumously)
  • 1989 C. Everett Koop, M.D., Surgeon General of the United States, Washington, D.C.
  • 1988 Marshall R. Urist, M.D., Orthopaedic Surgeon/Researcher, Bone Research Laboratory, UCLA School of Medicine
  • 1987 George W. Hyatt, M.D., Professor Emeritus, Department of Orthopaedics, Georgetown University School of Medicine, Washington, D.C.

George W. Hyatt Memorial Award
The George W. Hyatt Memorial Award is given annually to an outstanding individual scientist who has demonstrated superior research, teaching, and service abilities in the field(s) of tissue banking, tissue transplantation, or transplantation medicine. The recipient need not be a member of AATB.

  • 2017 Melissa Greenwald, M.D., Health Resources and Service Administration, Rockville, Maryland
  • 2016 Helen Newman, PhD., CTBS, Veterinary Transplant Services, Inc., Kent, Washington
  • 2015 Alyce Linthurst Jones, PhD, LifeNet Health, Virginia Beach, Virginia
  • 2014 Shawn Hunter, Ph.D., Community Tissue Services - CTS Dayton, Kettering, Ohio
  • 2013 Gregory Ray, M.D., Kennesaw, Georgia
  • 2012 Lennox Archibald, M.D., PhD, Veterans Hospital, New Berry, Florida
  • 2011 Matthew Kuehnert, MD, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta, Georgia
  • 2010 Simon Bogdansky, PhD, Bogdansky and Associates, Littleton, Colorado 
  • 2009 Kelvin G.M. Brockbank, PhD, FACA, Cell & Tissue Systems, Inc., Charleston, South Carolina
  • 2008 C. Randal Mills, PhD, Osiris Therapeutics, Inc., Baltimore, Maryland
  • 2007 Stephen Livesey, M.D., Ph.D., Australian Stem Cell Centre, Victoria, Australia
  • 2006 William F. Enneking, M.D., Musculoskeletal Transplant Foundation, Edison, New Jersey
  • 2005 Lloyd Wolfinbarger, Ph.D., LifeNet, Virginia Beach, Virginia
  • 2004 Robert E. Stevenson, Ph.D., American Association of Tissue Banks, McLean, Virginia
  • 2003 D. Michael Strong, Ph.D., Northwest Tissue Center, Seattle, Washington
  • 2002 John F. Hansbrough, M.D., University of California, San Diego Medical Center
  • 2001 Julie Glowacki, Ph.D., Director of Skeletal Biology, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts
  • 2000 Hans Burchardt, Ph.D., Executive Director, Pennsylvania Regional Tissue Bank, Jessup
  • 1999 Ross Wilkins, M.D., Medical Director, Donor Alliance, Denver, Colorado
  • 1998 Theodore I. Malinin, M.D., Professor and Director, University of Miami Tissue Bank, Florida
  • 1997 Kenneth W. Sell, M.D, Ph.D., (Deceased) Professor & Chairman, Department of Pathology, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, Georgia
  • 1996 William W. Tomford, M.D., Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston
  • 1995 Harold T. Meryman, M.D., Center for Transfusion & Transplant Medicine, Naval Research Institute, Bethesda, Maryland

Kenneth W. Sell Memorial Award
The Kenneth W. Sell Memorial Award is given annually to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the development of tissue banking standards, the inspection and accreditation of tissue banks, and/or the education and certification of tissue banking personnel to ensure the quality, safety and availability of cells and tissue for transplantation. The recipient need not be a member of AATB.

  • 2017 Scott Brubaker, CTBS, FDA CBER - Food and Drug Administration, Silver Spring, MD
  • 2016 Murray L. Anderson, CTBS, CST, CQA, (ASQ), AATB Inspector
  • 2015 Ralph Powers, DDS, CTBS, LifeNet Health, Virginia Beach, VA
  • 2014 Helen Bottenfield, RN, Virginia Beach, Virginia
  • 2013 Ruth Solomon, M.D., Orlando, Florida
  • 2012 Charles Sims, M.D., Medical Director, California Cryobank, Inc.-Los Angeles, Los Angeles, California
  • 2011 Duke Kasprisin, MD, American Donor Services, Bozeman, Vermont
  • 2010 Nancy Dock, Sr. Director Tissue Acquisition, Lonza Walkersville, Inc., Jamesville, New York
  • 2009 Joel Osborne. CTBS, Musculoskeletal Transplant Foundation, Edison, New Jersey
  • 2008 Kathy Pearson, LifeNet Health, Virginia Beach, Virginia
  • 2007 Judith E. Woll, M.D., Community Blood Center/Community Tissue Services, Dayton, Ohio
  • 2006 Jeanne Linden, M.D., M.P.H., New York State Department of Health, Albany, New York
  • 2005 Diane Wilson, RN, CTBS, Community Tissue Services, Dayton, Ohio
  • 2004 D. Ted Eastlund, M.D., Ph.D., University of Minnesota Medical School, Minneapolis, Minnesota