Home » Standards

IMPORTANT NOTICE: AATB Standards are subject to revision at any time pursuant to the Association’s procedures. Such revisions may consist of the addition of a new Standard, the rescission of an existing Standard, and/or the partial amendment of a Standard. Notice of each such revision is given by AATB by posting on the Association’s website, and distributing via email, a “Bulletin” that announces those changes and their respective effective dates. Persons seeking to determine the current provisions of Standards should always review the Bulletins for any such announcement of revisions to Standards or may request a current and effective copy of the Standards by sending a request to the AATB mailbox: accreditation@aatb.org. Please contact AATB's headquarters office for any questions concerning Standards or revisions thereof.

AATB Standards of Tissue Banking

First published in 1984 and presently in its 14th edition, the AATB’s Standards for Tissue Banking are recognized in both the United States and around the world as the definitive guide for tissue banking. These Standards are the only private tissue-banking standards published in the United States, and they are the most comprehensive and detailed tissue-banking standards in the world. As such, the AATB’s Standards have served as the model for federal and state regulations as well as several international directives and standards. Currently, the statutes and/or regulations of more than 20 states reference AATB’s Standards, institutional accreditation, or individual certification.

The Standards for Tissue Banking include expectations and guidance on:

  • General institutional requirements
  • Functional components
  • Records Management
  • Authorization and consent practices
  • Donor screening and testing, and suitability
  • Parameters surrounding tissue recovery operations
  • Tissue processing, packaging, labeling, storage and distribution
  • Establishment and maintenance of a quality program​

NADO Standards and Guidance Documents

AATB first introduced the NADO Standards in 2011. Prior to 2011, applicant NADOs were accredited using applicable Sections of the Standards for Tissue Banking. In recognition of a need for separate Standards, AATB published the 1st edition of AATB Standards for Non-Transplant Anatomical Donation in 2011. Between 2011-2015, 7 NADOs were accredited under the 1st edition of Standards-NT. In 2017, the 2nd Edition of Standards for Non-Anatomical Donation was published. In 2018, a NADO-specific Donor Risk Assessment Interview (DRAI) and NADO physical assessment were released as guidance documents.