Awards & Recognition

AATB recognizes outstanding individuals within the tissue banking community.

Achievement Awards

AATB recognizes exceptional individuals in tissue banking by presenting three Achievement Awards on an annual basis. These awards are named after prominent individuals who have made significant contributions to both the tissue banking community and AATB. The awards include the Jeanne C. Mowe Distinguished Service Award, the George W. Hyatt Memorial Award, and the Kenneth W. Sell Memorial Award.

Jeanne C. Mowe Distinguished Service Award

The Jeanne C. Mowe Distinguished Service Award acknowledges an individual's significant contributions in tissue banking or transplantation, be it in research, education, or laboratory enhancement. The award also recognizes an individual's exceptional service to the Association or the field of tissue banking while demonstrating leadership qualities and willingness to provide their expertise to their peers or the Association. To qualify for the award, the recipient must be a member in good standing of the Association.

Initially, the Jeanne C. Mowe Award was called the Distinguished Service Award. In 1987, the first Distinguished Service Award was presented to George W. Hyatt, who later became the namesake of the George W. Hyatt Memorial Award. However, in August 2013, the award was renamed to honor Jeanne C. Mowe.

About Jeanne C. Mowe

Jeanne C. Mowe served as the inaugural Executive Director of the American Association of Tissue Banks. During her tenure, she drafted the first Standards for Tissue Banking and established AATB's tissue bank accreditation program. She also played a vital role in the Surgeon General's Task Force on Organ Donation and was a member of the executive committee of the American Council on Transplantation. Following her death in 2003, Jeanne C. Mowe's remarkable 20-year dedication to AATB was recognized with the establishment of the Jeanne C. Mowe Distinguished Service Award.

Past Jeanne C. Mowe Winners

George W. Hyatt Award

The George W. Hyatt Memorial Award is presented to an exceptional individual scientist who has shown exceptional abilities in research, teaching, and service in the fields of tissue banking, tissue transplantation, or transplantation medicine. The recipient of the award is not required to be a member of AATB. In 1995, Harold T. Meryman, MD was the first recipient of the George W. Hyatt Memorial Award.

About George W. Hyatt

Dr. George W. Hyatt, a Navy surgeon, is credited with conceiving the idea for the Navy Tissue Bank, which earned him the title "Father of American Tissue Banking." During his tenure at the Navy Tissue Bank, Dr. Hyatt supervised experiments on preservation techniques and freeze-drying tissues. He also provided his expertise as a consultant for tissue preservation programs overseas. After serving 17 years in the Navy, Dr. Hyatt left the Navy Tissue Bank and became a professor of orthopedic surgery at Georgetown University. Sadly, Dr. Hyatt passed away in 1993 at the age of 63. To honor his legacy, the George W. Hyatt Memorial Award was established.

Past George W. Hyatt Award Winners

Kenneth W. Sell Award

Every year, the Kenneth W. Sell Memorial Award is presented to an individual who has made an important contribution to the advancement of tissue banking standards, the inspection and accreditation of tissue banks, and/or the education and certification of tissue banking personnel to guarantee the quality, safety, and availability of cells and tissue for transplantation. The recipient of the award is not required to be a member of AATB. In 2004, Ted Eastlund, MD, PhD, became the first recipient of the Kenneth W. Sell Memorial Award.

About Kenneth W. Sell

Dr. Kenneth W. Sell, also known as the "Father of AATB," assumed the role of director of the Navy Tissue Bank in 1965. Recognizing the necessity for an organization of tissue banks, Dr. Sell arranged the Tissue Bank Symposium, which took place from August 13-15, 1975, in Washington DC. Just over a year later, in 1976, Dr. Sell incorporated AATB. In 1996, Dr. Sell passed away, leaving behind a legacy in tissue banking, which is celebrated in the Kenneth W. Sell Memorial Award.

Past Kenneth W. Sell Award Winners

Nomination, Review & Selection Process

The annual AATB Achievement Awards program follows a rigorous nomination and selection process. Members and non-members are invited to submit nominations to the AATB Nominating and Awards Committee. The committee reviews the submissions and recommends a list of candidates to the AATB Board of Governors. The AATB Board of Governors subsequently selects the winning individuals. The chosen individuals are notified and honored at the AATB Annual Meeting.



Submit your nomination today!